Posted by: Sahaja | October 30, 2008

Gobi manchurian

Well,

Let me start of the saga with one of my fav dish…. became my favourite because it came out delicious the first time I made…Its Indo Chinese dish for those who don’t know…Gobi Manchuria….

 

 I never had cauliflower (Gobi) before in my life…mainly because we never allowed my mom to buy one hehe…well; necessity is not only mother of invention but also mother of innovation, change!!

 Now, here I am, in a land where the only vegetables you get in all seasons are “Cauliflower, broccoli and cabbage”…You see, God is very clever!! And so, one fine morning where I could not manage to get any other vegetable which was in edible form (sometime in Feb this year) Tadadadaaaaaa…I bought GOBI!!

 

 I sincerely did not like to open it…called up my mom and said…. Yewww amma…how to cook cauliflower…. she was laughing saying…. “Neekilane avvale, mondikesedanivi kada nenu chestha ante” [hehe it should happen like this only to you, u remember how you used to be stubborn when I asked you to eat!!]…. Uffff…so I kept the phone!!

 

 Then I remembered eating Gobi Manchuria once when I was at college…. hmm…actually I did not know it was Gobi so ate and quite liked it…so there you go, I decided I would make Manchuria!! Ok Ok…. I wont bore you much now…. Here’s my recipe!!

 Things you need:

 For the batter 

  • Gobi – 1 cut into small size florets*
  • Maida or all purpose flour – 1/2 cup
  • Corn flour – 5tbsp-1/2 cup

 For the sauce 

  • Onions – 2 sliced very finely
  • Tomato sauce – 3 tbsp
  • Soy sauce – 1tbsp (for the Chinese flavour, not to worry, you could skip)
  • Chilli sauce – 2tbsp
  • Chilli powder – 1tbsp
  • Capsicum – ½ sliced (optional)
  • Garlic – 3 cloves chopped (entirely optional coz I made it without once and it was as great)
  • Green chillies – 3 finely chopped.
  • Ginger – small piece finely chopped.
  • Coriander – for garnishing.
  • Salt – to taste
  • Oil for frying

*(You can just make the florets apart without using knife if you would want to)

 Procedure:

 I have tried in 2 ways but I recommend making the sauce first and then making batter coz it would keep the Manchuria still crisp J…Hmm yummy!!

 Sauce

  • Take a saucepan and heat a tsp of oil (could use butter). Add chopped onions, green chillies, ginger, garlic together later the capsicum and fry till onions are translucent.
  • Now add the tomato sauce, chilli sauce stirring well. Allow it to be on low flame and after 2 mins add the soy sauce. Adding soy sauce gives that particular Chinese tinge.
  • Add a pinch of salt, chilli powder and mix it well.
  • Take 1 tbsp of corn flour in a bowl and mix with little bit of water to make a batter and see there are no lumps formed.
  • Add this to the sauce and stir it well. Here corn flour acts as a thickening agent. That’s it, sauce done!!

Batter 

  • Take Maida in a bowl, mix in the corn flour and salt to taste. Add water to make a smooth batter. [it should be flowing completely when the spoon is held up]
  • Dip the florets in the batter and fry them in oil till golden yellow.
  • Reheat the sauce a bit and mix these fried florets till each one is nicely coated with the sauce. Garnish with coriander and serve hot with hot and sweet sauce!! I bet you it would be delicious!!

Note: we add corn flour here to make the florets more crispy and crunchy…. people who want it could heat cauliflower florets before in the microwave for 2 mins and then start the process using less corn flour.

 

 Variations:

 

Dry Manchuria – 

  • I still would prefer making sauce and mixing it well with the florets. For this, you need to add less water to corn flour at the end of making sauce so that it would become very thick sauce that can coat around florets without leaving behind. [like what I did]
  • Another way is to add all the spices to the batter, dip the florets and fry. Fry onions with sauces and add these florets and mix them well.

 Wet Manchuria – 

  • Make a loose sauce adding more water and less cornflour. And mix with the fried florets.

 Manchuria goes best with fried rice but you could have it as it is as a starter.

 Hope you enjoy!!

Responses

  1. looks really yummy….

  2. Gobi Manchurian is one of my favourite dishes! 🙂

    The dish looks delicious! 😛 🙂

  3. :-D…:-)

  4. […] My first post on this blog was Gobi Manchurian…This is just a variation from […]

  5. Awesome…Sounds good..wl try it out and get back to you…Cheers!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

