Posted by: Sahaja | November 9, 2008

Dhoodh Peda – Indian Milk sweet

Yesterday, I felt like I was wasting my time sitting before TV, ofcourse yaar, saw 2 telugu and 2 hindi movies in a day Ufff…..then I thought hmm let me cook something…..something easy to make but great to eat and see and ofcourse share …..Sweets Umm…..there I am back in my kitchen/lab hehe experimenting with milk (I hate milk and milk products can you believe?? I never tasted curd in my life and can never also – allergic- Phew)!!

What you require :

 

  • Milk powder – 2 cups about 300- 350grams
  • Condensed Milk – 1 tin (405grams is what I used -milkmaid)
  • Butter – 4oz stick.Ingridients and how do they look

Yup as simple as that !!!

 

How to do?

 

  • Take the butter, melt it by putting in a deep microwave proof container and heat for about 30-40seconds
  • Pour in the milk powder and the tin of condensed milk stir and mix it well.
  • Put it back in microwave for a min – and then do it for 3 times taking it out and mixing it well after each minute.
  • After 3rd time mix well and allow it to cool (u can use fridge for 5 mins or outside for 15 mins i prefer latter one)
  • Then make balls or flattened shapes as you like as shown in pics.
  • Decorate with cashews or almonds or pista as u wish 🙂

 

Tadadadaaaaaaaaaaaaan Dhoodh peda ready.

img_1411

 

This recipe is specially

 

  • for those NRI’s who feel like having sweets authentic but cannot get 🙂 This is one recipe which when shown to anyone looks masst to people , I am sure they would be praising you and asking for recipe :P….
  • For those non indian people who love Indian sweets but have to always buy them!!
  • For those lazy bugs who dont want to waste so much time in kitchen
  • Its the best prasadam for Shirdi Sai Baba
  • And for people like me, who love Khaana banana and Khilaana 🙂

 

Hope you enjoy 🙂

I would love to hear from people who really follow these recipes if they made and if it came out well….just as a feedback 🙂

Responses

  1. hmm..baagundi.. but i dint make it.. wud like to taste it when u make it…

  2. hey how to get milk powder in united states .can we substitute any other to milk powder plzz help

  3. thanks for the interest deeps…
    I did not know milk powder is unavailable in US. Dont you get skimmed powder either? Hmm if so, I am afraid you have to take the long procedure….
    U can ofcourse substitute it with milk but you cannot make it in microwave. [atleast i did not try so should try and tell] 😦
    If you want I can give u recipe of it with milk but it takes abt 2 hrs 😦

  4. Wow looks gr8 and yummmmmmmmmmmmmmy.

  5. hi very tasty peda

  6. hi enjoy this tasty doodh peeda


Leave a Reply

Categories

