Posted by: Sahaja | November 23, 2008

Pulihora – Tamarind rice

 

Today I am going to intorduce you a very common and delicious dish we make in AP. 

My mom makes this as a special dish on festivals and my personal favorite. 😀

Sometimes my mom makes it with left over rice when we get bored 😀

What you need : 

  1. Rice – 1 cup
  2. Tamarind – 1 lemon size roll
  3. Roasted groundnuts – fistful (thats how i measure , might say half cup depending on your taste)
  4. Green chillies – 6-7 diagonally cut
  5. Turmeric – 1tsp
  6. Salt – to taste
  7. Asafatodia – 1/2tsp

For Tadka (Popu)

  1. Avalu – mustard seeds – 1/2 tsp
  2. Bengal gram – 1/2 tsp
  3. Urad dal – black gram – 1/2 tsp
  4. Jeera – 1/2 tsp
  5. red chillies – 1 or 2 depending on your taste
  6. Asafatodia – a pinch
  7. curry leaves – a line

How to Do??

  • First of all, take the tamarind and soak it in water for some time till all the juice comes out. For the easy cook types – put the tamarind in water and heat in microwave for 2 mins. 
  • Cook the soaked tamarind along with the water with 2 drops of oil, turmeric, asafotodia, green chillies, curry leaves and pinch of salt till it thickens to a paste (as in the picture).
  • Meanwhile, cook the rice (preferably sona masuri , I dont suggest basmati for this) seperately and spread it on a flat plate to cool for about 5 mins.
  • After cooling rice for 5 mins , add a little oil, turmeric and salt and mix well.
  • Add the above made tamarind paste to yellow rice and mix well without mashing the rice grains.
  • Now, for tadka, heat oil in a pan, and add the mustard seeds, grams, jeera , red chillies and roasted ground nuts, asafotodia till mustard seeds pop.
  • Add this to the tamarind mixed rice and mix well 😀
  • Thats all….Wow pulihora ready 😀

pulihora

 

Students studying abroad can make this as a special dish to mark celebrating a festival or make something different from left over rice for a difference.

U can also make the paste in good amount and seal it in a air tight container . It stays for a while, just add to rice and put tadka its 5 min job on a tired evening 😀

Responses

  1. I love pulihora 🙂 call it as puliyodhara…bt use ready made powder.which isnt that good.thanx for ur recipe will try it

  2. hey thanks for visiting this blog 😀
    Ya try and do tell me if it works 😀
    Welcome to my kitchen dear 🙂

  3. I like puliyodhara for the its tangy taste 🙂 I like it a little spicy too 😉

  4. Ohh Ya…I too love it for its tangy flavor…Ummm…this time , may be because its been so long, I loved what I made…It tasted delicious :D….Raj, do you cook?

  5. Hi sahaja , u have a lovely blog too , and comming to the foodbuzz ,its a great idea to join , I will send a mail regarding foodbuzz , gohead and signup through mail

  6. Can I have your mail id plzz

  7. Hehehe . . . I can make instant noodles and tea 😉 if you can call that cooking 🙂 But I can make pretty good dosas.

  8. guess what before Jan this year I did not even know how to make tea!!!

    Hmm I love dosas as well…..i dont have mixie or grinder to make batter …I am coming home and will get one when I am back!!

  9. I have been trying to make the instant puliodharai but not able to eat it continuously. So, seems like a good Idea to follow your recipe. But please give the Telugu or Tamil equivalent words for the following:(I will try this also tomorrow)
    Tamarind
    Turmeric
    Asafatodia
    Bengal Gram/
    Urad Dal

    Curry Leaves is karuvepulai I guess…

    Thanks,

    Destination Infinity

  10. telugu I can give , tamil hmm may be i can try…

    telugu / tamil
    tamarind – chinta pandu / puli [thats y the name]
    turmeric – pasupu / manjal
    asafatodia – inguva / ingu
    bengal gram – sanaga pappu / kadalai paruppu
    urad dal – minapappu / ulutham paruppu

    curry leaves is indeed karivepaku 🙂

    Hope this helps and good luck 😀

    Regards

  11. I have every thing except inguva…. so have decided to do it tonight itself.. Thanks for the translation. I know both the languages but not able to catch kitchen terms sometimes in either one of them.

    Destination Infinity

  12. Hmm inguva is very essential to give the flavor….get a lg one in nearest grocery store [:)]…
    do let me know how it was without inguva 🙂

  13. Sahaja, I had been looking for a pulihara recipe – and am delighted to have found it.. I have just one question – Any idea how much tamarind paste would I need – I am using tamaring paste instead of tamarind.

  14. Sahaja – I just tried out your recipe – and wanted to tell you that it tastes awesome – and was so quick!

  15. @ Smitha – Wow….Thanks soooooo much!! Ur comment means a lot to me….its very encouraging and am on cloud 9 now!!!!
    Hope 2 c u often here and am really really glad that you tried and came back to tell me!! Made my day
    Happy New Year!!
    [tamarind paste i guess 2 tsp would be fine!]

  16. hey this recipe got me a prize in my cooking competition !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    its simply awesome……………


Leave a Reply

Categories

