Posted by: Sahaja | November 27, 2008

Spicy Jeera Rice – Spicy Cumin Rice

Today I was alone, my friend with whom generally I have dinner is dining outside on a farewell do of her team at office. So I decided, I will make something light….something which is just one dish and yet is tasty enough!

Also I had a long conversation with my best friend, I suddenly remembered how we use to sneak out and have Jeera rice if we did not want mess food…..Ya that was cheap, enough for two of us just one dish πŸ˜€ …So there’s the inspiration πŸ™‚ I started off to do Jeera rice. I did not want any additional dish with it so I added onions in recipe. U can do it without onions [see my variation].

What you Need?

  • Rice – 1 cup
  • water – 2 cups if long grained rice/1cup if basmati
  • Jeera /Cumin seeds – 2 tsp
  • Green chillies – 4 medium sized cut diagonally or length wise
  • Ginger – 1/4tsp
  • Onions – 1 finely chopped [prefer red ones]
  • Cinnamon powder – a pinch [optional]
  • Turmeric – pinch
  • Curry leaves – a stalk [I always like more of them, but never eat them πŸ˜› love the flavor they add]
  • Asafoedia – pinch [optional]
  • Oil – 2tsp
  • Salt- to taste

Jeera rice

How to makeΒ 

  • Cook the rice in pressure cooker. Or You can cook in Microwave for 20 mins at maximum power with twice as much of water as rice.
  • Take a pan and heat the oil in it.
  • Add cumin seeds (jeera) and once they pop add green chillies, ginger, asafotoedia and curry leaves.
  • After sauting for a few seconds till they are fried , add chopped onions and fry till they are golden brown on medium flame [or 4 on electric]
  • During this, add turmeric cinnamon powder and salt.
  • Now bring in the cooked rice and mix with this in the pan.
  • Bring it down off the stove and serve hot with a pickle if needed πŸ™‚

Umm….I just love the taste of it πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoy too πŸ˜€

Jeera

Variations :

You can avoid adding onions, and just cook the same way to make jeera rice . It tastes blissful to me. you can serve it with a side dish like Dum Aloo [Potato dish in hyderabadi style] or Aloo Matar [peas and potato curry] or Spicy Bhindi [spicy okra fry]. I shall soon make these at home and post the recipes. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Categories

