Posted by: Sahaja | December 6, 2008

Kobbari Lauzu – Coconut burfi/sweet

I joined foodbuzz recently and one of the foodie profiles that caught my attention was Yummy Food blog…Oh Dear, the pista burfi profile pic was sooo mouth watering….Now, coming to the story, I visited her blog and saw there is an event going on called FIC ย started by Sunshinemom and is hosted by Lubna of Yummy Food. Well, as always in a hurry I didnt see that the event was for recipes made during dec1-31 exclusively ….So in a josh, I sent her a mail in format required giving my doodh peda recipe! I was skeptical when I sent her the mail….and Dingg I was wrong….I had to send a recipe made between dec 1st-31st. So, I sat thinking, [I was working from home that day so had ample time ๐Ÿ˜› ]….

The first thought I got when I thought of white in food was Coconut!! Ya….coconut indeed…[I hate working with milk]!

So , felt I should make Coconut burfi…my grandmom makes it wonderfully delicious and so is one of my favorite!! In Andhra we call it Kobbari Lause! So, Heres the recipe….

What You Need :

  • Freshly scraped Coconut – 2 cups
  • Condensed milk – 1 9 oz can [as I dont like to touch fresh milk, necessity is mother of innovation]
  • Cardomom – 4-5 crushed
  • Butter/ghee/oil – to line the base plate so that it does ย not stick.

coconut-burfi

How to Do :

ย 

  • Take a deep bottomed pan and add the freshly scraped coconut and roast silghtly for abt 5mins [till u get the sweet smell of coconut , also take care you dont burn]
  • As you get the smell, lower the flame and add the tin of condensed milk, sitrring continuously.
  • Keep stirring and cook on low flame for sometime till you can see the milk completely mixes with coconut.
  • Add cardomom powder now and mix well.
  • Cook till you see that milk stops to stick to the pan.
  • Grease a baking plate/steel plate with butter/ghee and pour the coconut mixture into this.
  • Spread evenly on the plate as shown in picture.
  • Cool in fridge for about 1 hr and dont try skipping, else you wont get nice cake shapes.ย 
  • After, cut them into diamond shapes to make delicious Burfi.

coconut-burfi1

ย 

I made a few cakes and made a few balls cooling a part of burfi outside instead of fridge. We call this coconut louze [grandmom’s recipe]. My aversion towards touching milk made me go for the condensed milk version. You can also do it by cooking with milk and sugar syrup.

This recipe was made exclusively for FIC White Event of Lubna and the post is dedicated to Lubna of Yummy Foodย for introducing me to this. Thanks Lubna ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

Burfi

Burfi

kobbari lauzu

kobbari lauzu

Hope you enjoy!!

Responses

  1. This is one of the few sweets I like ๐Ÿ™‚
    Me : ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. It is very good to see ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Destination Infinity
    Me : Y sad face? Thanks very much ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Hi,

    Burfi looks awesome. Send some burfis along with the entry. I love the snow fall. I makes me feel chirstmas is near by. Thanks a ton for the entry. Appreciate your JOSH.
    Me : Thanks Lubna….ofcourse this post is specially dedicated to u :D…Had I been in blore I would have def send u burfis as well ๐Ÿ˜‰ !! Thanks for the encouragement ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Great tasting and easy laddoos! I remember one song from a telugu movie – Kobbari Nila Jalaka Laadi….:). Pretty white entry! Would appreciate if you could link it to my announcement too:). Thanks!
    Me : Ohhh I thought I had linked it to urs…..no probs I shall do that….welcome to my blog and thanks for stopping by to comment ๐Ÿ™‚ ….U have literally too good blog…lotsa of life and lively things going on ๐Ÿ™‚ Great work seriously…how do u find so much time?

  5. Coconut burfi is my all time fav’….if i get a chance ‘getting nice coconut here’….I badly want to try this. Your burfi is inviting…..makes me nostalgic….

    >Me : Thanks very much Malar….Welcome to my blog….U get almost everything in UK ๐Ÿ˜€ but have to sometimes to another city! its much better coz country is soo small ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. my brother’s fav sweet…initially, even i was thinking about making this for FIC-white…your barfi looks delicious:)

  7. burfi looks delecious sahaja , and simple to make

  8. @ Chandani….Thanks very much and welcome to my kitchen!!

    @ Sagari ….. Thanks …..how are u doing??


Leave a Reply

Categories

