Posted by: Sahaja | December 12, 2008

Munakkaya tomato curry – Drumstick, tomato curry

One of my favorites….Me and my brother wait for my mom to make this !! Too good in my eyes! So here is the recipe !

What you Need ?

 

  • Drumsticks – 2 long ones
  • Tomatoes – 2 med sized chopped 
  • Onions – 1 med sized finely chopped
  • Popu/Tadka – Ingridients – 1 spoon
  • Green chillies – 3 to 4 chopped
  • Salt – to taste
  • Oil – 2 tsp
  • turmeric – pinch
  • Curry leaves – 4/5

 

drumstick-tomato-curry1

How to do?

 

  • Chop the drumsticks into finger sized bits and cook them in pressure cooker [3 whistles and 2 min sim]
  • Heat the oil in a pan.
  • Once its heated add the seasoning/tadka ingridients, green chillies and curry leaves once the mustard seeds pop.
  • Now add onions, turmeric and fry till they are light brown . Now add the cooked drumstick pieces and cookfor about 3 mins
  • Now add the tomatoes, salt and cook for 5-10 mins on a low flame with lid on stirring occassionally.
  • U can garnish with coriander if you want. And thats it Done 😀

img_1534

 

Hope you enjoy this…..recipe – the way mom does  :).

Responses

  1. That is interesting. I thought we can only make munakkaya pulusu. One of these days I will make this too. I cooked the semiya upma today by myself and yes it was good. So, at last I’ve managed to cook something! Your post was the inspiration. Thanks.

    One request: If you can write on how to make tomato rice, coconut rice and mango rice, it will be very useful for me. 🙂

    Destination Infinity

  2. It looks yummy 😛 but I generally don’t like Murungakkai (that’s how Munakkaya is known in Tamil) because one cannot eat the outer skin 😐

  3. delecious looking curry sahaja , I use to hate this curry when I was kid , but now ,miss moms cooking a lot , hmmmmm

  4. Hi Sahaja,
    This is my favorite too. When i was small, while my mother was cooking this dish, i used to take out the munakkaya which is just cooked at that time only not even waiting for the lunch or dinner. it’s so tasty with the tomato’s essence deep in it.

    one more tip. in the tadka we can also add methi (fenugreek ) seeds. The taste and flavor would be still more delicoius. also we can add fresh methi leaves if available. very very tasty and finger licking!!!!!

  5. Hi sahaja thanku for ur comment. Im new to ur blog…drumstick curry is so yummy nd colourful .Gud wrk…..

  6. Wowow….I am all happies….So many readers to my cooking blog 😀

    @ DI – Thanks and I am glad someone is able to make something from here 🙂 [not that they are blast recipes but coz cooking depends a lot on way one does rather than procedure!] So Kudos….May u make more dishes 😀
    I shall try and put up, Tomato bath and coconut rice as well soon !!
    Thanks for encouragement DI …I noted ur points on Semiya upma but could not reply coz I was travelling 😀 shall do that soon!

    @ Sailaja aunty – Yup Yup I shall try, I am taking menthulu with me to UK now! I quite like the taste of them in some dishes as well though they are a bit bitter! Thanks 😀

    @

  7. @ Raj – Hmm…I guess u r the first person i know who doesnt like drumstick….u like sambar of it??
    Ya its a bit clumsy to eat but taste is worth it 😀

    @Sagari – Thanks Sagari…..Actually my mom never made it at home till we were about 15yrs ….coz she was doubtful if those pieces would cause any damage to us 😛
    Ya…I am home now and mom’s food , whatever it is seems the best in the world!

    @Tina – Welcome to my blog 🙂 Thanks for visit…Ur pics are really awesome! mouth watering!!

  8. Hey Sahaja,

    The Drumstick curry looks good….i usually make pulusu with it using tamarind and a tomato…it goes well with mudda pappu/plain dal 🙂

  9. Never tried this but looks delicious will give it a try


Leave a Reply

Categories

