Posted by: Sahaja | January 15, 2009

Happy Pongal – Award and Recipe too!

Happy Sankranthi to all of my readers! I am glad that there are more visitors to this place and good number of comments also….Ofcourse, who doesnt want a feedback right? Thanks to Lubna for featuring me on her Rendezvous with Kitchenflavours event, thats the start! Β and ofocurse to Sagari – who introduced me to everything thats good :).

There is one reader, who really does what I write here and asks me doubts even – thats Destination Infinity! Well, looking at the questions he asks, I feel hez never been in kitchen before literally! He is a good supporter for me [ really dont know if he means to πŸ˜‰ ] to post simple recipes on the blog and to improve my recipe writing skills.Β 

And He awarded me with the Butterfly Blog Award – isnt that very nice of him? Thanks DI!

butterfly-award1

I pass this onto my favorite mates in Kitchen – Lubna , Sunshinemom, Navita and ofocurse Sagari.

Girls, I dont know if you were already awarded anyways have two two butterflies in your garden ! [Isnt ur kitchen overlooking a garden?]

There is also one more person who deserves this award from me…but she doesnt blog…..Sailaja aunty this is for you πŸ™‚

And now coming to Recipe for today. Since its pongal, i got up early, took headbath and wanted to make Bellam Pongal/Sweet pongal. Here is the recipe –

What you Need :

  • Rice – 1/2 cup
  • moong dal/pesara pappu / green gram – 1/4th cupΒ 
  • Jaggery – 1 cup grated/minced
  • Milk – 3/4 cup
  • Water – 3/4 cup
  • Cashew nuts and raisins – for garnishing
  • Ghee/butter – 1tsp
  • Cardamom, nutmeg powder and saffron – for flavor .

chakkera-pongali-sankranthi-09

How to Do? :

  • Take a pan, wash moongdal and rice mixture thoroughly. Cook in a pressure cooker adding milk and water as mentioned. [4-5 whistles]
  • Meanwhile, mince the jaggery into managable small pieces.Β 
  • Take a pan, heat ghee and fry the cashews and raisins in it. Just as you take it off the stove add, cardamom and nutmeg powder to it. If available add saffron as well.
  • Remove the cooked rice mixture from pressure cooker and add jaggery to it and mix well. If the rice is too dry u can add a little bit of ghee to make it flowy enough to mix
  • Pour in the ghee with cashews and raisins and mix well.
  • Garnish with remaining cashews and serve hot. Its a Yum Yum dish!

img_1937

This one is going as a entry to FIC – YELLOW hosted by Sunshinemom.Β 

fic-yellow1

Hope u enjoy it and Happy Sankranthi!

Responses

  1. Sahaja, I red that post which resulted in your award. It is indeed a rarity that people read and understand Sanskrit. I can follow to a good extent but do not know Sanskrit well enough to understand completely! Thank you for honoring me with this award:). Your chakra pongal looks very tasty and yellow enough for FIC:)

    Thanks Harini, Actually I thought of sending it to FIC but was not sure if it was yellow enough πŸ˜‰ now that the master said it, I will update the post and send it soon πŸ˜€ … Sanskrit, I tend to read and try understanding every single thing I find so just improving…I love Sanskrit! Its a sweet and wonderful language!

  2. Thank you darling.. I already have it yet I am humbled again. Thank you πŸ™‚

    My Pleasure….Another butterfly to adorn ur nest πŸ™‚

  3. Hi sahaja , happy pongal to u and thank u sooo much for choosing me , I am soo happy and honoured

  4. by the way sweet pongal looks reallyyyy yummmmm

    Thanks soo much Sagari…U deserve the award πŸ™‚ I am honoured too

  5. Wow award with a sweet touch… Love it. Thanks dear….

  6. http://cooking-up-a-storm-zaayeka.blogspot.com/2009/01/simple-cheese-bruschetta.html

    Plz accept my appreciation πŸ™‚

    Me: Thanks soooooooo much Navita!! I am soo very glad and honoured! πŸ™‚

  7. This is one sweet dish! πŸ˜›

    ME: Yup Yup, the only milk sweet i like to eat without modifications!! πŸ˜›

  8. Congrats for the awards Sahaja πŸ™‚

    Me : thanks Kanagu!!

  9. HI Dear,
    Thanks a lot for the award for me with this sweet pongal. i was looking out for new posts all these days but did not find any. Today i opened after few days and i see so many items posted. Wow Your waffles is astonishingly beautiful and good.


Leave a Reply

Categories

