Posted by: Sahaja | January 21, 2009

Simple Potato curry – Aloo curry

Yesterday full day I was scheduled to look for flats to move in!! Well, the relocation assistant said  we have places to see for the whole day! Strangely enough I forgot about “LUNCH” !! So when we saw about 6 places, it was about half past 12 and he said ok then have a nice lunch and we’ll meet at 2! Uff I thought, I was tired actually to cook something elaborate…so decided would make this simple aloo curry – easy to make 15min recipe!

What you need?

  • Potatoes – 2 medium sized
  • Onion – 1 medium sized – chopped
  • Tadka Ingridients  – 1 and 1/2 tsps
  • Turmeric – pinch
  • Ginger -1/4tsp finely chopped
  • Green chillies – 3 small sized ones
  • Coriander – for garnishing
  • Lime juice – few drops.
  • Oil – 1 tsp
  • Salt – to tastealoo-curry

How to do?

  • Boil the potatoes in a pressure cooker [ you can cook it when you cook rice in the same cooker but ofcourse in separate dishes]
  • Peel the boiled potatoes and slightly mash them with hand. [ no need to use any mashing spoon!]
  • Heat the oil in the pan and add tadka ingridients once the oil is heated enough
  • After popping of mustard seeds, add the ginger and green chillies and keep under low flame.
  • This time, I chopped onions vertically into long fine pieces than finely chopping as I always do, just for a change and i loved the look of it [ see the pic, dont u like it?]
  • Now add these cut onions to the chillies and saute under low flame. 
  • During this time, add turmeric and if you want to add salt you can do it now.
  • Add the mashed potato and mix well.
  • Cook with lid for about 7-10 mins and garnish with lime juice and coriander.
  • Serve hot with rice or chapathi….

aloo-curry1

Yum Yum……Tooo good!! Try it and tell me!

This entry is going for yet again to FIC-YELLOW – by Sunshinemom

img_2042

Responses

  1. Wow this is my all time favourite curry. Looks yummy.

  2. really nice and simple one. but what is that tadka ingredients?

  3. That is the best thing about making potato curry. It doesn’t take that long and you will have a very satisfying meal.
    This looks yumm.
    Love the colour.

  4. I know! This is so satisfying!! And I agree with you that yellow is so common in Indian kitchen everything one cooks seems right for the event – it is going to be one long round up:)

  5. Potatoes were my favourite staple when I was a child. I could not do without potatoes for even a single day. My mother used to pack a potato dish in my school lunch everyday. Now my diet is much more varied, but I still have a soft corner for potatoes! 🙂

  6. Thanks for this, iam making something more simpler today and I am planning to try this tomorrow.

    Destination Infinity

  7. I did this one! This is my first successful cooking venture (Thanks to you and my grandmom). I did what you have suggested here and I also did a simpler version – Just cook the potatoes in the cooker along with rice, take it out, peel it, add uppu-mirrappudi and eat! Not bad!! I have both the photographs, and I intend to add it in my post (as an update) on cooking.
    Do keep writing about simple dishes like these!!!!

    @Kanagu: Tadka ingredients are : First put some oil (3-4 tea spoons) in a pan, heat it and put the mustard into it. When it starts jumping, put some parruppu in it. Keep heating it till the parruppu turns brown (not black). Then put the onion in it and start cooking till the onions become translucent. Then put the potatoes.

    Destination Infinity

    @ DI – Wow…I am soooooooo glad you did it 🙂 …ya I like the simpler version as well! but still i love this one!! Look Whoa…U r giving very nice suggestions as well…I told u na, its such a easy things to do!

  8. soo yummi, potatos are my fav of all times ~ am updating my blog also in english do visit http://www.cartablog.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

