Posted by: Sahaja | March 4, 2009

Yummy Carrot Rice

 

Yummy Carrot Rice

 

This can very well be sent to Bookmarked recipes. This is a recipe, Sailaja aunty told me….and believe me ITS AWESOME!! Its very simple and looks lovely too…..I was patting myself and telling Sabash while I was eating! Its that easy and tasty….Deliously simple could be the word.

bookmarked-recipes

What you need?

 

  • Carrot – 1 -2 grated.
  • Green Chillies – 3-4 cut lengthwise
  • Tadka ingredients – 2 tsp [suggest add more Bengal gram [chana dal] and urad dal]
  • Tomato puree – freshly made would be better. ½ cup
  • Curry leaves – 1 twine.
  • Salt – to taste.
  • Oil – 1 ½ tsp
  • Coriander – to garnish
  • Lemon juice – to garnish
  • Green peas – 3 tbsp [optional]

 

How to do?

 

  • Grate the carrot and keep aside. Cook the rice and spread it on a flat surface to keep ready for mixing.
  • Heat the oil in a pan and add tadka ingredients. Let the mustard seeds pop and add green chillies and curry leaves.
  • Now add the grated carrot and cook till raw carrot smell goes off.
  • Take one or two tomatoes and make a puree out of it by blending in a blender or by grinding in a mortar and pestle.
  • Add this freshly made puree to carrot [I loved it without peas and like to leave it like that but you could add tinned peas at this stage].
  • Cook till water is gone and oil oozes out. Add salt and mix well.
  • Mix this with already cooked rice and take care you dont mash the grains of rice. 🙂 just for the look of it!
  • Garnish with coriander and lemon juice. And that’s it delicious dish ready!!!!

 

to-be-sorted4

And then I realised, its perrrrrfect for FIC –ORANGE haina?? But because no net I could not post till now! but anyways…..

YUM YUM , do try and let me know feedback!! I bet you would like it!

img_2326

Responses

  1. That’s really interesting. I am about to buy carrot for making carrot thalimpu this weekend (After my successful potato curry that I learnt from here). So, I will try this also 🙂

    Destination Infinity

  2. Every thing that could go wrong, actually went wrong when I was making this!! (Read: Even before I started to make). I went to the shop and bought carrot, tomato, chillies and karepaku (No kotthamalli available!). I planned everything – I have a blender (Actually I have this one to cut onion into small pieces, and if you change the knife with the blender attachment and rotate, it will blend fruits for you). But, if you want to cut carrot in to such fine pieces as shown in the above photo, we can’t do it with a knife no? So, I even went and bought a steel plate with a lot of holes in it, as advised by the person in the supermarket. So, I was ready and determined to do this. I put the rice in the cooker and half of the carrot i bought also ( I was planning to do half carrot thalimpu and half carrot rice!!). When I closed the cooker and put on the stove, the flame was not coming. I mean, the gas was out!!. Actually I have another spare gas (The clever guy that I am, I had foreseen this gas getting over) but that is currently in another friends house as his parents have come in the last week! Now, I am in a position that I can neither go to the hotel (all hotels are closed at this time!), nor make even noodles (same gas!) and don’t even have bread! So, I am cutting the carrot and tomato and creating a raw salad and eating right now!. Today morning I thought I could create a competitor blog to yours in cooking and in the night, my situation is this! I suspect the intervention of destiny in all this………..

    Destination Infinity

  3. My dear friend….DI…..things go wrong often and Mr Murphy sits right on ur head sometimes in situations like this….but am glad u tried and keep up the spirit 🙂

    where is ur cooking blog, common i wanna c ur experiments too!

  4. Things do go wrong often, but not like this – This week I again have all the ingredients ready (Including the gas, which I changed yesterday). I left the pressure pan with water in the sink and when I went to take it to make rice, there were two lizards inside the pan (I mean inside the water). I heard somewhere that it is dangerous, so I am not making anything today. I can’t also!! Now don’t you accept that all this is a work of destiny? Please advise if I can wash the pan and re-start cooking or I have to buy a new pan 😦

    Destination Infinity

    OMG lizards….welll u heard true…it can be dangerous…now were they dead? if yes def change the pan…if i were you anyways I would change the pan….its very unhygenic and i sincerely advise, dont let this type of stuff happen again…..neatness is of prime importance and first step in cooking! if u r soaking anything in water, do one thing, get a new tub/bucket and soak in that and dont leave for more than a day! if u want, i will write a post abt simple things to keep kitchen clean, coz i dont know any great stuff!

  5. Yes, the lizards were dead. I too think I need to change the pan. Actually, I had left the raw rice with water with the pan locked with the rim for about 5 days…. So, I had to put some water and let it remain for sometime before cleaning it. It was in this already horrible situation that the lizards, of all places, chose to go! I like lizards. I think they are quite clever. But I am afraid of cockroaches.

    I think I need to re-think about the whole process of cooking. Maybe I should set some rules and follow them. The second part is the toughest 🙂 Anyways thanks for your encouragement. Maybe I will start cooking again from the end of this month. I have to, by then. Keep writing simple cookings.

    Destination Infinity


Leave a Reply

Categories

